Posted by: Regina Rodriguez Manzanet | March 14, 2009

My Mater and Me

When I was younger, people enjoyed telling me how much I looked like my paternal grandmother. In fact, I remember seeing a picture of her when she was not much older than I am now and actually doing a double-take because I thought it was me. So for many years, I was convinced that I was the one that looked most like my grandmother.

However, when I first started doing self-portraits with my point&shoot a few years ago, I had a lot of family members confuse some of my shots for shots of my mother. That is what made me start to look deeper. My mother also had it stuck in her head that I was “from your father” until little by little, more and more people started telling her how much I looked like her. Now her story is that my little sister and cousin look like her when she was young and I look like her now.

I don’t think we’ve changed that much over the years so I don’t know what has caused this shift but I know I am from both of them now.

Hopefully Ill look as good someday...

Hopefully I'll look as good someday...

Responses

  1. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  3. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Leave a Reply

Categories

